Lincoln defeats South Gwinnett

BSdAm66IUAECCyN

Occasionally people actually pay me to write stories. Last night was one of those occasions.

If you follow me on Twitter (how could you not!?), you realized I was in Norcross to cover the Lincoln-South Gwinnett game that was being televised on ESPN for the Tallahassee Democrat.

NORCROSS, GA. — The Lincoln Trojans opened up the 2013 season in fine fashion on Saturday afternoon with a 34-21 victory over South Gwinnett at Norcross High School near Atlanta. The game was televised nationally on ESPN.

Lincoln took control in the first half thanks to a dynamic performance by senior quarterback Darius Harvey. Head coach Yusuf Shakir was pleased with how his young team handled its first test of the year.

“I think it was a great game for us,” Shakir said. “I just think it builds confidence. You could see we were young because we would get hot and then we’d have kind of little lulls. That’s just being young.”

You can read the rest of the story on Tallahassee.com right here.

I figured since I flooded some of your timelines last night with updates from the game I’d provide you with the actual game story.

Here are some of my additional thoughts on the game:

  • Lincoln quarterback Darius Harvey looks like he could be poised to have a big year now that he’s surrounded by play-makers like John Burt. Harvey started off hot last night going 7 of 10 in the first half, but was just 2 of 8 in the second half. If he can become more consistent he should see his offer list grow. He already added an offer from Howard last night according to Chris Nee of 24/7

 

BSdEB0gIUAAMSrx

  • I already mentioned Burt, but it was his coming out party last night. The junior had four grabs for 132 yards and two touchdowns. He also had a 47-yard kickoff return and an interception in the game. He’ll be a fast riser in the class of 2015.
  • Lincoln’s two big-name prospects also lived up to the hype. Jeff Williams, a Louisville commit had a pair of sacks and looked like he’s got potential to star in a 3-4 system. While four-star Kendall Randolph lived up to the billing. South Gwinnett stayed away from him for the most part, but he still managed to come away with an interception.
  • On South Gwinnett’s side I think that they’ll be ok. If they had avoided the turnovers and cut down on some of the penalties then they would have been in last night’s game more. I was impressed with how sophomore QB Josh Shim moved the ball late in the game and he could have a bright future when he takes over the reigns from senior Malik Brown.
  • I didn’t stick around for the late night beating that Booker T. Washington handed Norcross. I had to get to a Chic-fil-A to file my story. I thought Norcross would put up a better fight than that, but I think last night’s result may speak more to Booker T.’s talent than Norcross’.
Leave a Reply

